Event Schedule

Pits Open: | Doors Open: | Races Start:
Pits Open: 4:30pm | Doors Open: | Races Start: 6:00pm
Pits Open: 4:30pm | Doors Open: | Races Start: 6:00pm

Newsletter Sign Up

Loecken Lands In Victory Lane As 2019 Track Champions Are Crowned

September 2, 2019

Sunday night, September 1st fans were greeted to season championship night at the Granite City Speedway in Sauk Rapids, MN and witnessed intense racing action and the crowning of track champions as the track wrapped up it’s 2019 season.

In the WISSOTA Hornet feature, Grayson Pratt started outside of the second row and made his way to the top spot, which he held for the remainder of the 15-lap distance of the feature event. Justin Schelitzche, who started 5th on the feature field, raced his way up to a runner up finish and secured the 2019 Hornet track championship in the process. Joe Wilber, Nate Servaty and Braiden Benjamin rounded out the top five finishers in the main event.

Josh Christy and Mike Dickey sat on the front row for the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature, however sixth starting Ashley Mehrwerth didn’t waste any time racing from the third row to the top spot, which she was able to hold on to until the checkered flag flew, putting her #17 into victory lane. Tom Gill ran second with Dickey, Matt Baker and Jason Helmbrecht completing the top five. Travis Schulte picked up the 2019 track title.

In the WISSOTA Mod Fours, it was an all Pogones family front row with rookie Tommy and his dad Justin pacing the field to the green. Justin hopped from the outside of the front row in to the lead and never looked back on his way to his second win of the weekend. Tyler Larson, Flickinger, Dean Larson and Tommy Pogones rounded out the top five finishers in the main event. Jamie Flickinger was crowned as the 2019 track champion.

Another father-son front row was set when Devin Fouquette and his dad Chad lined up next to each other on the front row of the WISSOTA Super Stock main event, but it was Dexton Koch, who started fourth, was the first to cross the checkered, besting Chad Foquette by just over a half second to pick up the victory. Devin finished third with Matt Miller and Tommy Patton in the top five. With the win, Koch won the track title, which came down to the final night to settle.

The WISSOTA Modifieds saw Tony Proell and Peter Loecken on row one for the feature with Loecken jumping to the lead from the outside of the front row and never looking back en route to a 2.5 second victory over Clayton Wagamon. The victory is Loecken’s first career Modified feature win. Denis Czech came across the start/finish line in third with Tony Proell and Taton Hansen rounding out the top five. Czech wrapped up the 2019 track championship with his 3rd place finish.

For more information regarding Granite City, please visit GCSpeedway.com. The track management would like to thank all of the racers, crews, fans, employees, sponsors and volunteers for a great 2019 racing season. We appreciate you spending your time and money with us.



Feature: Peter Loecken, Clayton Wagmon, Denis Czech, Tony Proell, Taton Hansen, Brandon Linquist

Heat: Czech, Wagamon, Hansen, Loecken, Proell, Linquist


Feature: Grayson Pratt, Justin Schelitzche, Joseph Wilber, Nate Servaty, Braiden Benjamin, Randy Jacoboski, Colton Trembath, Thomas Inderieden, John Aderman

Heat: Pratt, Wilber, Schelitzche, Benjamin, Trembath, Servaty, Inderieden, Aderman, Jacoboski

Super Stocks

Feature: Dexton Koch, Chad Foquette, Devin Foquette, Matt Miller, Tommy Patton, Carson Miller, Jim Gullikson

Heat: C. Foquette, Koch, D. Foquette, Gullikson, Patton, M. Miller, C. Miller

Midwest Modifieds

Feature: Ashley Mehrwerth, Tom Gill, Matt Dickey, Matt Baker, Jason Helmbrecht, Mike Dickey, Charlie Zander, Jonathan Olmscheid, Austin Chyba, Josh Christy, David Pixley, Jon Starnes, Corey Koenig, Travis Schulte, Ryan Putnam

Heat 1: Baker, Zander, Mehrwerth, Schulte, Pixley, Starnes, Helmbrecht, Koenig

Heat 2: Gill, Matt Dickey, Mike Dickey, Olmscheid, Putnam, Chyba

Mod Fours

Feauture: Justin Pogones, Tyler Larson, Jamie Flickinger, Dean Larson, Tommy Pogones

Heat: J. Pogones, Flickinger, T. Larson, D. Larson, T. Pogones