Event Schedule

Pits Open: | Doors Open: | Races Start:
Pits Open: 4:30pm | Doors Open: | Races Start: 6:00pm
Pits Open: 4:30pm | Doors Open: | Races Start: 6:00pm

Newsletter Sign Up

Double Martinis on the Rocks at Granite City

July 16, 2012

Granite City Speedway
By: R.J. Sahlstrom (July 15)

Everybody was trying to beat the heat as temperatures soared over 90 degrees prior to race time at Granite City Speedway. The program was sponsored by Risley Distribution with AMSOIL.  Sweeps in the WISSOTA/AMSOIL Dirt Track Racing Series went to Eric Martini, Dave Mass, Justin Pogones and Kyle Thell. Bud Martini took the checkers in the Midwest Modifieds.

The WISSOTA Modifieds were brought to the green in the feature by “Flyin” Ryan Canon and Dave Mass. Mass blasted out to the lead on the first circuit and would be the driver to beat. Matt Weisman dropped out on lap fourteen while the race remained under green flag conditions. Mass continued his torrent pace to the checkers while holding a sizeable lead. Things got very interesting as Mass weaved his way through traffic at the back of the pack. While he was weaving through, Eric Martini closed the gap to virtually nothing on the white flag lap. Martini made an excellent pass by Mass on the very last lap to take the trip to victory lane. He finished off a clean sweep in the Jennen Farms entry followed by Mass, Dave Cain, Clayton Wagamon and current WISSOTA National point leader, Shane Sabraski.

Martini completed a clean sweep as he won the first Modified heat race. Ryan Aho won the second heat.

Pacing the WISSOTA Super Stock field to green in the feature were James III Trantina and Kevin Kraemer. Dave Mass grabbed a brief lead for one lap until being passed by current WISSOTA National point leader, Shane Sabraski on the second round. Sabraski continued his quest for the checkers through the mid-point of the event. Mass then took back the lead on lap eleven until the only caution of the race came out on lap fourteen. Kevin Troupe had spun out in turn 4 and was sent to the back for the restart. Mass took over where he left off at the time of the caution and never looked back. Mass and Sabraski put on a driving clinic as the battled for the lead for all twenty laps. Mass finished a clean sweep in his Affordable Chassis chased by Sabraski, Dave Read, current WISSOTA National Rookie point leader, Dexton Koch and Kraemer.

The Super Stock heat race win went to Mass.

On the pole positions when the green flag dropped for the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature were Jason VandeKamp and Joe Voigt. VandeKamp took the lead from the start and would hold the front position through lap five. Bud Martini took the lead on lap six and would be the only other driver to claim the front spot. He drove a great race from that point forward including encounters with lapped traffic for the last five laps to earn the trip to victory lane. The race would go without caution for Martini in the Martini’s Auto Parts entry. Behind him at the checkers were VandeKamp, Shane Sabraski, Dan Ebert and Jeremy Nelson.

The Midwest Modified first heat race victories went to Ebert, Nelson and Jim Jacobson.

Sitting on the front row for the WISSOTA Street Stock feature were Tiffany Maus-Krippner and Christina Wollak. Maus-Krippner held a brief lead on lap one and Wollak followed suit on lap two. The lone yellow lights blinked on the third round as current WISSOTA National Rookie point leader, Brad Schmidt spun out in turn 4. From a row four start Pogones blasted his way to the lead on the restart and set sail for victory lane. He led all remaining laps in the Scott’s Engine Shop powered ride to complete the clean sweep. Trailing him at the finish line was Dave Read, Josh Laney, Wollak and David Goulet.

The Street Stock heat checkers were claimed by Goulet and Pogones.

The WISSOTA Mod-4 feature field was led to the initial green by Brandon Lindquist and Mike Rau. Lindquist took the lead for the first two laps. Kyle Thell then grabbed the lead on lap three and would be there when the first caution flag flew on lap six. Jamie Flickinger and Chad Funt had a meeting in turn two with Flickinger getting a ticket to the back for the restart. Thell kept his drive for the win going when the green flew and became the driver to beat. The second and last yellow lights blinked on the sixteenth circuit for Tyler Larson who got out of control in turn 4. Thell hopped out front on the final restart and rode the Golden Plump Poultry sponsored car to a clean sweep. Following him at the end was Ross Mead, Funt, Rau and Flickinger.

The Mod-4 class heat race wins were earned by Thell and Flickinger.

On the front row for the Hobby Stock feature were Jessie Wellman and Matt Everts. The main event would be a slugfest as the lead traded six times between four different drivers. Caution lights came on a total of six times also during the race making it a survival of the fittest. Jeff Ahlquist took the first shot at the win and would have it two other times. Ray Midas took the front for two laps and Keith Thell had it for one. Reed Matthies would lead the two most important rounds of the race as he led the last two laps. He celebrated his first career Hobby Stock feature win and his birthday in the NAPA victory lane. Behind him at the finish were Thell, Matt Fester, Chris Isdal and Midas.

Isdal and Thell grabbed the checkers in the heat races.

The next event at Granite City Speedway will be Kids Meet the Drivers night on Sunday, July 22nd.  The first green flag drops at 5:00pm. If you are looking for a new venue for some exciting dirt track racing on a Sunday evening, come out to the Granite City Speedway.


WISSOTA Modified

Heat 1: Martini, Sabraski, Ebert, Canon, Voigt, Proell, Weisman, Gierke, VanKlompenberg

Heat 2: Aho, Cain, Wagamon, Mass, Ostrander, Jones, Fletcher, Williams

Feature: Eric Martini, Dave Mass, Dave Cain, Clayton Wagamon, Shane Sabraski, Ryan Aho, Dan Ebert, Jason Voigt, Dano Ostrander, Shawn Fletcher, Justin Jones, Ryan Canon, Bob Gierke, Curly Williams, Tony Proell, Randy VanKlompenberg

WISSOTA Super Stock

Heat: Mass, Sabraski, Read, Trantina, Kraemer, Koch, Troupe

Feature: Dave Mass, Shane Sabraski, Dave Read, Dexton Koch, Kevin Kraemer, James III Trantina, Kevin Troupe

WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Heat 1: Ebert, Sabraski, Martini, Studanski, Frolik, Miller, Barrett 

Heat 2: Nelson, VandeKamp, Czech, Johnson, Zenner, Auld, Sertich

Heat 3: Jacobson, Voigt, Eystad, Koenig, Fouquette, Kraemer

Feature: Bud Martini, Jason VandeKamp, Shane Sabraski, Dan Ebert, Jeremy Nelson, Denis Czech, Corey Eystad, Jon Frolik, Corey Koenig, Joe Voigt, Ryan Studanski, Ryan Johnson, Chad Fouquette, Jim Jacobson, Christopher Zenner, Kevin Kraemer, Dustin Auld, Dave Barrett, Mark Miller, John Sertich

WISSOTA Street Stock

Heat 1: Goulet, Wollak, Maus-Krippner, Adams, J. Laney, McCain, K. Laney

Heat 2: Pogones, Read, Schmidt, Becken, Brenny, Voigt, Claassen

Feature: Justin Pogones, Dave Read, Josh Laney, Christina Wollak, David Goulet, Kurt Becken, Dan McCain, Brad Schmidt, Mark Voigt, Tiffany Maus-Krippner, William Branny, John Adams, Kyle Laney, Chad Claassen


Heat 1: Thell, Halls, Lindquist, Funt, T. Larson, D. Larson, Olson, Holtquist

Heat 2: Flickinger, Gilyard, Mead, Rau, Bawden, Walentini, Atkinson

Feature: Kyle Thell, Ross Mead, Chad Funt, Mike Rau, Jamie Flickinger, Brandon Lindquist, Dean Larson, Dustin Holtquist, Landon Atkinson, Dwight Gilyard, Adam Olson, Tommy Bawden, Matt Halls, Tyler Larson, Steve Walentini

Hobby Stocks

Heat 1: Isdal, D. Thell, Everts, Wellman, Matthies, Fester

Heat 2: K. Thell, Thompson, Midas, Ahlquist, Henry, Fleck

Feature: Reed Matthies, Keith Thell, Matt Fester, Chris Isdal, Ray Midas, Jessie Wellman, Jeff Ahlquist, Matt Everts, Dan Thell, Adam Thompson, Jeremy Fleck, David Henry