Event Schedule

Pits Open: | Doors Open: | Races Start:
Pits Open: 4:30pm | Doors Open: | Races Start: 6:00pm
Pits Open: 4:30pm | Doors Open: | Races Start: 6:00pm

Newsletter Sign Up

Blazing Hot Race Action at Granite City

July 2, 2012

Granite City Speedway
By: R.J. Sahlstrom (July 1)

An excellent group of cars registered at the pit gate to race at the Granite City Speedway. As temperatures blasted higher than the 90 degree mark people were looking for various ways to stay cool. Midas of St. Cloud sponsored the program as five WISSOTA classes and the Pure Stocks took to the dirt in a quest for the checkers.

Dan Ebert took the only sweep in the WISSOTA/AMSOIL Dirt Track Racing Series. Other feature winners were Dave Cain, Shane Sabraski and Jamie Flickinger. Dave Read took the Street Stock feature for the second week in a row.

The WISSOTA Modifieds were led to the Feature green by “Flyin” Ryan Canon and Matt Weisman. Weisman drove a great race from the first green flag leading the main event through lap nine. The caution lights blinked only two times before the mid-point for debris. Dave Cain worked his way up through the traffic to take the lead on lap ten from a row four start. Cain proved to be the man to beat as he led all remaining laps in his Mountain Manufacturing sponsored ride taking the trip to victory lane. Following him to the finish line were Weisman, Clayton Wagamon, Don Eischens and Canon.

Modified heat race victories were claimed by Eischens and Shane Sabraski.

Pacing the WISSOTA Super Stock field to green in the feature were James III Trantina and Kevin Kraemer. On lap one Kramer set the pace and would be out front for the first four laps. A lonely caution flag flew on lap five for a two car pile-up in turn 1. On the first completed lap after the restart Shane Sabraski would find himself at the front of the pack by leading lap five.   He took the lead after he clawed his way up from starting 8th. He dominated the race from that point on taking the checkers in the Andy’s Towing entry. Chasing him at the end were Dave Read, Dave Mass, current WISSOTA National Rookie Point Leader, Dexton Koch and Steve Weber.

The Super Stock heat race wins went to Gary “Gas Man” Husmann and Mass.

Sitting in the Pole Positions for the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature were Mike Brenny and Tom Gill. This would be a slugfest as the yellow flag flew no less than seven times during the 20 lap event. Brenny took the early lead only to lose it when he headed to the pits during a caution on lap two. After the green flew on the restart Dan Ebert would be in the lead on the second circuit from a row four start. During the next few laps Denis Czech and Jeff Nelson battled for the runner-up position. Czech headed to the pits with a flat tire on lap nine and would have enough time to change it before the next official green flag came out. He would be at the back of the field for the restart. Ebert took control of the race from that point forward in the Quarter Master car capping off a clean sweep. Trailing him at the end were Jeremy Nelson (from 10th), Czech (from the back on a restart), Corey Koenig (from 12th) and Travis Schulte.

The Midwest Modified heat winners were Czech, Ebert and Jeff Nelson.

On row one for the WISSOTA Street Stock feature were Dan McCain and Ben Rothstein. At the drop of the green Rothstein blazed the trail and survived two cautions to lead the first four laps. Dave Read took a brief lead on lap five only to be passed by Justin Pogones on lap six. The third and last caution blinked on the next lap for a car spinning in turn 1. After the green came back out, Read made his second and last pass for the lead on the seventh round. The Wollak Construction ride would dominate the rest of the circuits on the way to the winner’s circle for the second week in a row. Finishing in the second spot was Andrew Bangsund followed by Pogones, Kevin Schmidt and Rothstein.

The Street Stock heat checkers were taken by Schmidt and Pogones.

The WISSOTA Mod-4 field was led to the feature green by Thomas Kellen and Tommy Sabraski. Sabraski would grab the initial lead for the first two laps until he was passed by Jamie Flickinger on lap three. Flickinger would drive a masterful race for the next twelve rounds when the only yellow came out on lap sixteen for a car stopping due to a flat tire. On the following restart Dean Larson shot the “Silver Bullet” into a brief lead for one lap. Flickinger then reclaimed the lead on lap seventeen to take a ride to the checkers. Behind the Dale’s Heating and Air entry at the finish were Sabraski, Kyle Thell, Larson and Chad Funt.

Matt Halls and Larson won the heat races in the Mod-4 class.

On the front row for the Pure Stock feature were Mike Nelson and Jason Goedker. Goedker and Nelson traded the lead back and forth on the first two laps. David Eich would find himself out front for the next four laps. Nelson then took a second shot at the trophy as he led laps seven through thirteen. Robert Mueller became the final driver to take the lead on lap fourteen and rode the Pro Scape “Mule Train” to victory lane. Chasing him at the end were Nelson, Eich, Gary Ohnstad, Jr. and Goedker.

Mueller completed a clean sweep as he won the Pure Stock heat race.

The next events at Granite City Speedway will be the Independence Day Special on July 4th. It will start at 7:00pm. Also added to the schedule is a Tuesday racing program on July 10th.  The first green flag drops at 7:00pm. If you are looking for a new venue for some exciting dirt track racing on a Sunday night, come out to the Granite City Speedway.


WISSOTA Modified

Heat 1: Sabraski, Canon, Weisman, Greer, Proell, Williams, Hoium, Ostrander

Heat 2: Eischens, Cain, Voigt, Wagamon, Mass, Ebert, Atkinson

Feature: Dave Cain, Matt Weisman, Clayton Wagamon, Don Eischens, Ryan Canon, Dave Mass, Jason Voigt, Dan Ebert, Logan Atkinson, Scott Greer, Shane Sabraski, Dano Ostrander, Tony Proell, Curly Williams, Brett Hoium

WISSOTA Super Stock

Heat 1: Husmann, Koch, Dulas, Kraemer, McCain, Troupe

Heat 2: Mass, Read, Trantina, Sabraski, Weber, Loftis

Feature: Shane Sabraski, Dave Read, Dave Mass, Dexton Koch, Steve Weber, Brett Dulas, Kevin Kraemer, Pete Loftis, Jon McCain, Kevin Troupe, James III Trantina, Gary Husmann

WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Heat 1: Czech, Gill, Brenny, Jeremy Nelson, Sniezek, Kraemer, Miller

Heat 2: Ebert, Sabraski, Schulte, Voigt, Studanski, Zenner, Shiek

Heat 3: Jeff Nelson, Eystad, Martini, Koenig, Auld, Rizer, Barrett

A-Feature: Dan Ebert, Jeremy Nelson, Denis Czech, Corey Koenig, Travis Schulte, Corey Eystad, Todd Rizer, Joe Voigt, Kevin Kraemer, Dustin Auld, Shane Sabraski, Ryan Studanski, Charlie Sheik, Dave Barrett, Tom Gill, Jeff Nelson, George Sniezek, Christopher Zenner, Mike Brenny, Bud Martini, Marc Miller

WISSOTA Street Stock

Heat 1: Schmidt, Read, Bangsund, Wollak, Adams, Peterson, J. Laney, Rein

Heat 2: Pogones, Rothstein, Becken, McCain, Voigt, Maus-Krippner, K. Laney, Brenny

Feature: Dave Read, Andrew Bangsund, Justin Pogones, Kevin Schmidt, Ben Rothstein, Kurt Becken, Josh Laney, John Adams, Dan McCain, Tiffany Maus-Krippner, Christina Wollak, William Brenny, Mark Voigt, Mark Rein, Russell Peterson, Kyle Laney


Heat 1: Halls, Flickinger, Funt, Sabraski, Bawden, Olson, Walentiny, Bloch

Heat 2: Larson, T. Kellen, B. Kellen, Thell, Mead, Atkinson, Mayavski, Rau

Feature: Jamie Flickinger, Tommy Sabraski, Kyle Thell, Dean Larson, Chad Funt, Brandon Kellen, Landon Atkinson, Matt Halls, Mike Rau, Ross Mead, Thomas Kellen, Tommy Bawden, Adam Olson, Steve Walentiny, Andy Mayavski, Jason Bloch

Pure Stocks

Heat: Mueller, Eich, Goedker, Nelson, Kraklau, Lehnen, Ohnstad, Dosh

Feature: Robert Mueller, Mike Nelson, David Eich, Gary Ohnstad, Jr., Jason Goedker, David Dosh, Chris Lehnen, Adam Kraklau